Digital Tools for the Classroom

Well, we’re in the full swing of Maypril, that two month stretch with one PD day and one 3-day weekend. June and the end of the school year looms, but it is illusory. I’m prone to putting my head down and just plowing forth, but I realize it might also be a good time to stretch a little and get out of my comfort zone. I had the opportunity to do that by participating in a Webinar this week. Being a part of a Webinar wasn’t so new, but the content, “Digital Tools in the Social Studies Classroom” did have some new-to-me tools I thought I’d share. First, note that the title, in part, is tailored to application “…in the Social Studies Classroom;” however, many of these tools cut across content areas.

To share this information, I thought I’d use a tool that’s not new to me: Evernote. I’ve taken to using this tool for electronic notes that I can keep in a virtual notebook. I have it on my computer, iPad, and iPhone; notes sync across platforms, so I can access them anywhere. That isn’t always the case when I take physical notes in a journal then don’t think to bring it home, where invariably, a Homer Simpson moment occurs:

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.10.04 AM

 

Don’t get me wrong! I’m still a big fan of physical note taking, especially for students in the classroom just learning note taking skills. Evernote works well for me on the fly, particularly when I know I’m going to have my laptop or tablet with me anyway. It does have some pretty cool bells and whistles (I’m still learning), like sharing my digital tools list with you, straight from my Notebook (no account necessary)!

As far as my list is concerned, some are familiar, some are new; some are hot-linked, some are not; all are web-based, and many have tablet/smartphone apps. If you’re interested in the full-length Webinar, it is archived at edWeb.net. You do have to join (free) their online community, Exploring eBooks for K-12, to access it. So, take a gander at the list or the Webinar! If something catches your eye, check it out and see how you might apply it to your classroom, Social Studies or not.

Leave a Reply

